1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. FYI - Your missing Content - your only seeing non-registered Guest Information... Quickly register and sign on to see more! (Shoutbox, current activity etc, more forums)
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hi There Guest! If your not sure about buying from us at HackersAdvantage, or unsure of our Detection Rates - Please Register and make a post asking! Our Staff and Members will reply to every question! We have the longest non-detection streaks in the industry! We offer a 3 day refund on hacks that you can not get to work on your PC. NO OTHER SITE DOES THIS!
    Dismiss Notice

Info The "correct" Way Of Reading Memory Via Readprocessmemory (.net Edition)

Discussion in 'Hack Coding Section' started by Helios, Nov 22, 2015.

1. Helios

Helios NOOB

NOTE: This thread requires the reader to understand how variables are stored in memory.

Although I'm not that experienced a reverser yet, I'm quite alright with code, and one thing I constantly notice over and over is people doing external cheats "incorrectly".

So what do I mean by that? Well, have a look at the example below:
    Code:
    ReadProcessMemory(ProcessHandle, BaseAddress + PlayerName, Name, Marshal.SizeOf(Name), 0)
    ReadProcessMemory(ProcessHandle, BaseAddress + PlayerScore, Score, Marshal.SizeOf(Score), 0)
    ReadProcessMemory(ProcessHandle, BaseAddress + PlayerPosition, Position, Marshal.SizeOf(Position), 0)

Now you might say, "Well, what's wrong with that?", and technically nothing is wrong, but, it's just not very efficient.

What ReadProcessMemory does, is read memory from a certain address and x amount of bytes forward. The thing is, ReadProcessMemory is slow, so we wont want to call it too many times. Now, if ReadProcessMemory functions this way, why aren't everybody reading larger blocks of memory, instead of reading a single data type size of memory?